Manufacturing Professionals Elevated to Prestigious SME College of Fellows


DEARBORN, Mich., July 27, 2016 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ — SME, which serves the manufacturing industry by promoting advanced manufacturing technology and is recognized as a key resource for the industry, has elected 10 manufacturing practitioners, researchers and educators to its 2016 College of Fellows.

SME Fellows are professionals from industry, research and academia with more than 20 years of experience in manufacturing and have had a demonstrated impact on the social, technological and educational aspects of the manufacturing profession.

The 2016 honorees have made significant contributions to manufacturing, including additive manufacturing, aerospace engineering, manufacturing operations, material science, ultrasonic machining, biofuel manufacturing and sustainable manufacturing. From the earliest stages of innovation and development through production application and implementation, SME Fellows are at the forefront of manufacturing.

In addition, through teaching, leadership and guidance, they’ve helped many students and young professionals in their own pursuits of advanced manufacturing degrees and careers in manufacturing.

“Inclusion in the SME College of Fellows is a prestigious recognition for a career well-served,” said 2016 SME President Dean Bartles, PhD, FSME. “These accomplished professionals instruct, inspire and lead. We’re proud to recognize their accomplishments, achievements and contributions to manufacturing.”

2016 Class of SME Fellows:

  • Joseph J. Beaman, ScD, FSME, The University of Texas at Austin, Austin, Texas.
  • Sandra L. Bouckley, FSME, GKN Driveline Americas, Auburn Hills, Michigan.
  • Hitomi Yamaguchi Greenslet, Dr. Eng., FSME, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.
  • Behrokh Khoshnevis, PhD, FSME, University of Southern California, Los Angeles.
  • Brad L. Kinsey, PhD, FSME, University of New Hampshire, Durham, New Hampshire.
  • Ashok Kumar, PhD, FSME, University of South Florida, Tampa, Florida.
  • Lonnie Love, PhD, FSME, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tennessee.
  • ZJ Pei, PhD, FSME, Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kansas.
  • Tony Schmitz, PhD, FSME, University of North Carolina Charlotte, Charlotte, North Carolina.
  • Hong-Chao Zhang, PhD, FSME, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, Texas.

The 2016 SME Fellows will be recognized during SME’s Fall Awards & Installation Banquet Nov. 12 in Rochester Hills, Michigan. As part of their recognition, the 2016 Fellows will receive lifetime, dues-free membership and can utilize the credentials “FSME” (“Fellow of SME”) after their names.

Nominations for the 2017 Class of SME Fellows are due on Dec. 1. Award information and nomination form can be found at Nominees must be members of SME.

About SME
SME connects all those who are passionate about making things that improve our world. As a nonprofit organization, SME has served practitioners, companies, educators, government and communities across the manufacturing spectrum for more than 80 years. Through its strategic areas of events, media, membership, training and development, and the SME Education Foundation, SME is uniquely dedicated to the advancement of manufacturing by addressing both knowledge and skills needed for the industry. Learn more at, follow @SME_MFG on Twitter or

Source: SME




Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Please type the text above: